Competency Standards

Standards and linked LPQ qualifications

On this page:

1. Introduction

2. Contents

3. Ways in Which the Competency Standards are  Commonly Used

4. How to use the Competency Standards

5. Download the Competecny Standards for free

6. Copyright

1. Introduction

The Institute's Competency Standards for paralegals, conveyancing paralegals, legal secretaries and legal assistants are a professional development tool developed with the help of a large number of law firms.

The standards are free to use.

The Competency Standards are written in plain English and detail the core skills and knowledge that the legal profession requires of a paralegals and secretaries at the different stages in their respective careers.

The Competency Standards are not transaction checklists; nor are they aspirational best practice guidelines. Instead they reflect daily reality and document in detail the essential skills and knowledge that employers feel they should be able to expect of an experienced and competent member of staff. Therefore not only do the standards work as a competency benchmark, but they also give guidance to employers and employees about the skills and knowledge that staff need to be working towards acquiring at the different stages of their career.

The Competency Standards allow both employers and employees to evaluate, accurately and in detail, an employee's skills and knowledge using an industry agreed, and nationally consistent, range of core competencies.

Until now, paralegals and legal secretaries have suffered because the lack of nationally consistent standards have stopped the creation of a national career path; made formal staff appraisals very difficult; inhibited the development of structured training and made discussions with legal recruiters and training providers less detailed than they ought to be. The Competency Standards assist both employers and employees with all these issues.

The Competency Standards always contain the main professional conduct obligations expected of staff. All Standards have reviewed by the Solicitors Regulation Authority from a compliance perspective.

2. Contents

Competency Standards' contents vary, depending upon the series in question. The following four series are currently available or being drafted:

Conveyancing paralegals
Legal assistants
Legal secretaries

By way of example, the Paralegal Competency Standards cover:

Application of Legal Expertise
Business Awareness
Client Relations
Interviewing and Advising
Managing Others
Practical Legal Research
Professional Conduct
Self Awareness and Development
Working with Others
Workload Management
Writing and Drafting

3. Ways in Which the Competency Standards are Commonly Used

4. How to Use the Competency Standards

It couldn't be simpler - just download the relevant Competency Standards free-of-charge and begin using them in any way that you wish (mindful of copyright - see below).

5. Download the Competency Standards for free

All the following documents are in .PDF format.

Competency Standards for Paralegals:

Introductory Level

Intermediate Level

Advanced Level

Competency Standards for Conveyancing Paralegals:

Advanced Level

Competency Standards for Legal Secretaries:

Introductory Level

Intermediate Level

Advanced Level

Competency Standards for Legal Assistants:

Introductory Level

6. Copyright

The Institute retains and reserves all rights of copyright and other intellectual property rights in the Competency Standards.

Although you are generally free to use the standards as you wish, you are not entitled to:

Pass them off as your own work

To sell or otherwise commercially deal in them

To incorporate them into products or services that you sell

Use them internally or externally without attributing the Institute as the author and copyright owner


Member Login